Contact Spelling Bee

The Greater Grand Rapids Spelling Bee includes six counties: Allegan, Barry, Kent, Muskegon, Newaygo, and Ottawa. The County Coordinator supports its schools which are participating in the Greater Grand Rapids Spelling Bee, disseminates materials provided by Kent ISD, and some also have long-standing county traditions. Each county has a Coordinator who arranges for the Regional Bee(s) in that county. Counties with multiple Regional Bees will identify multiple schools to host regional Bees. Contact your Contact Coordinator with questions.

County Coordinators:

Allegan County (1 Regional Bee)

Carolyn Whyte
Wayland Public Schools


Kent ISD (13-15 Regional Bees)

Mary Nell Baldwin


Newaygo County RESA (1 Regional Bee)

Brenda Burt


Barry ISD (1 Regional Bee)

Richard Franklin, Superintendent


Ottawa Area ISD (4-5 Regional Bees)

Lynn Potter