Bus Driver Training Agency
The Kent ISD operates a Transportation Training Agency certified by the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) to provide state mandated bus driver certification classes for public and private schools operating within the Kent ISD and the Ionia County Intermediate School Districts (ICISD).
Bus Driver Safety Education Classes
BEGINNING SCHOOL BUS DRIVER (BSBD) TRAINING
The Beginner class is comprised of 18 hours of instruction. Typically, Beginner classes are offered in the evenings over 5 nights (Tues, Wed & Thurs the 1st week and then Tues & Thursday the following week unless otherwise indicated). Training begins promtply at 6:00 PM. The summer Beginner classes are held during the daytime and run for three days (Tues, Wed & Thurs unless otherwise indicated) beginning promptly at 8:00 AM. Beginning School Bus Driver classes for the 2016/17 school year are listed below.
Receipt of Enrollment Cards
Once enrolled in a Beginning School Bus Driver Course, a qualified enrollee may be issued a temporary certificate (white card) to drive a school bus. We cannot guarantee that enrollment cards will be processed on a same-day basis. Please allow 2-3 business days to receive enrollment letters and cards in the mail. Please remember that although districts may enroll drivers in any of these classes, enrollment cards cannot be submitted until 90 days prior to the enrolled class date. This temporary driving certificate (white card) is valid for up to 10 days following completion of the beginning bus driver class. Please remind your driver that only ONE white card will be issued. If they do NOT attend this class, FOR ANY REASON, they will NOT be issued another card and will not be able to drive after the expiration date on the card.
BSBD 2016-17 CLASSES
August 30 31 September 1, 2016 (8:00 AM - 2:30 PM) - CLOSED
August 30 31 September 6, 7, 8 (6:00-9:36 PM) - CLOSED
October 4 5 6 11 13, 2016 (6:00-9:36 PM) - CLOSED
November 15 16 17 21 22, 2016 (6:00-9:36 PM) - CLOSED
December 6 7 8 13 15, 2016 (6:00-9:36 PM)
February 7 8 9 14 16, 2017 (6:00-9:36 PM)
March 14 15 16 21 23, 2017 (6:00-9:36 PM)
April 25 26 27 May 2 4, 2017 (6:00-9:36 PM)
June 13 14 15, 2017 (8:00 AM - 2:30 PM)
ADVANCED SCHOOL BUS DRIVER TRAINING
The Advanced class is a state-mandated continuing education requirement. Typically, Advanced classes are offered in the daytime and run for 6 hours beginning at 8:00 AM unless otherwise indicated. Breaks during the class will be determined by the istructor with class input as to number and duration. Attendance is required for all six hours in order to successfully complete this class. Lunch is NOT provided.
(Please Note: Per the State of Michigan Pupil Transportation Public Act 187, Section 257.1851: Every current school bus driver holding a green or yellow education card that expires on Sept. 30, 2017 must attend a six-hour school bus driver continuing education class by that expiration date.)
Drivers who do not complete this continuing education requirement by September 30, 2017 will be required to complete the 18 hour (3 to 5 days) Beginning School Bus Driver Training course in order to remain legally eligible to drive a school bus.
Advanced School Bus Driver classes for the 2016/2017 school year are listed below. Classes are held at Kent ISD unless noted.
|10/31/2016 - CLOSED||6/12/2017||8/09/2017|
|11/04/2016 - CLOSED||6/16/2017||8/10/2017 - CLOSED|
|11/29/2016 - CANCELLED||6/19/2017 - CLOSED||8/14/2017 - CLOSED|
|11/30/2016 - CANCELLED||6/20/2017 - CLOSED||8/15/2017 - CLOSED|
|2/20/2017||6/26/2017 - Lakewood CLOSED||8/21/2017|
|2/27/2017||7/17/2017||8/24/2017 - Lakewood|
|3/07/2017||7/24/2017 - CLOSED||8/30/2017|
|3/17/2017||7/26/2017 - CLOSED||9/13/2017|
|4/03/2017- CLOSED||7/27/2017 - CLOSED||9/14/2017|
|4/12/2017||7/31/2017 - CLOSED|
|6/08/2017||8/08/2017 - CLOSED|
CONTACT LYNETTE ALTMAN AT firstname.lastname@example.org or (616) 365-2387 TO ENROLL IN AN ADVANCED CLASS
INSTRUCTIONS FOR SELF-EMPLOYED DRIVERS
Although most school bus drivers are enrolled into a continuing education class by the school district or contractor for which they work, there are also many drivers who are SELF-EMPLOYED. A driver is considered to be SELF-EMPLOYED if he/she falls into one of the following categories:
- Retired school bus driver
- School bus driver in between employers (or unemployed)
If you are a self-employed driver and you wish to keep your driving credentials current, you must enroll yourself.
Mandated Transportation Supervisor Training
Part 1 - Class Materials - 2015-2016 - Supervisor Class Resources - Part 1
Live Class (Part 2) - Scheduled for Tuesday May 3, 2016 9:00 am - 1:00pm - see below for enrollment
Please remember that the Michigan Department of Education has separated Transportation Supervisor training into two three-hour segments. YOU MUST COMPLETE BOTH SEGMENTS TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR A SUPERVISOR CARD.
Once Supervisors have completed BOTH segments, and the proper documentation is e-mailed to our office (per the instructions you receive), you will be eligible for a new Transportation Supervisor card, which will have an expiration date of 9/30/2018. New cards will be mailed to Supervisors after course requirements are completed.
Please Note: Public Act 187 states, "The person or persons in charge of school bus operations at a school shall successfully complete 6 hours of supervisory continuing education every 2 years after the successful completion of the beginning school bus driver training program."
On-Line Supervisor Course
If you are unable to attend the Supervisor class, you may take the course on-line. Instructions for registering and accessing the on-line class are below. You will need your Training Agency nine digit account number to register for the on-line class. Your nine digit number is printed on your Continuing Ed course completion card (green card) or you may request the number from Lynette Altman at 616 365-2387 or email@example.com.