Kent Intermediate Superintendent Association (KISA)

Kent ISD provides services to twenty local public districts and to all non-public schools within its boundaries. Directly or indirectly, we serve almost 300 schools, more than 120,000 students and 7,000 educators. One of 56 ISD's in Michigan, Kent ISD provides a wide range of services to meet the needs of the educators, families and communities we serve.

KISA is a committee comprised of Superintendents from the twenty constituent public districts, as well as the Superintendents from the Christian and Catholic School systems in Kent County. The group meets monthly to address the following areas:

• Student Achievement
     -
Secondary Principals, Elementary Principals, KSBO, Special Education, KLC,      
        KHR, KTAC

• Engagement
     - Grassroots/Legislative, School News Network, WMTT Regional Advocacy

• Inclusion
     - 
Global Competencies, Collaboration

                                               2018-19 Goals

*  Every Child Prepared for Kindergarten

*  Every student reading at grade level in 3rd grade

*  Every student performing at grade level in math at 8th grade

*  Every student college and career ready

The KISA is led by Kent ISD Superintendent, Ron Caniff. Meetings of the whole KISA are held at the Kent Intermediate School District usually on the second Friday of each month. The KISA members also meet regionally to discuss educational issues unique to their districts.

KISA MEETING DATES

2018-19

9:00 a.m. – Kent ISD Coldwater Room

Friday, August 10, 2018
Friday, Sept. 14, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Friday, February 8, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019

Earn 25 State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECH) by  attending 6 of the 7 KISA meetings! (Partial Credit cannot be earned).

2018-19 SCECH Committee Application 

KISA RETREATS

October 11-12, 2018 – KISA Retreat in Big Rapids 
7 SCHECH Credits available (SCHECH Application form)

January 18, 2019 – KISA Retreat in Grand Rapids
 
April 25 & 26, 2019 – KISA Retreat at Gun Lake

Printable Meeting schedule available here
 
KISA Holiday Party - December 8, 2018
 

KISA LEADERSHIP MEETING DATES

2018-19

9:00 a.m. - Kent ISD Bostwick room

Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019